Reset
Search recommendations

    GES-2 is a decommissioned power plant in Moscow. The power plant occupied a complex of buildings at 15 Bolotnaya Embankment in the Yakimanka area and operated in 1907-2015. After the closure, the buildings were transferred to the V-A-C Foundation for Contemporary Art, which began the reconstruction of the building into an art center. The opening took place on December 4, 2021.


    In 2009, the GES-2 building received the status of a cultural heritage site of regional significance.


    The reconstruction project includes the restoration of the original historical appearance of the power plant and the rethinking of its interior space. It involves turning to the principles of energy efficient and sustainable architecture - using solar panels, drawing clean air through pipes built up to 70 meters and collecting rainwater, and the roof of the turbine hall is planned to be made of glass to provide natural light during daylight hours. The architects plan to use the nave of the main building as a large exhibition space with an area of 1300 m², the smaller rooms as separate exhibition halls.


    Blue pipes are one of the main visual accents of the building, and this color is not chosen by chance. Architects from Renzo Piano Building Workshop wanted them to differ from usual pipes associated with smoke and pollution. These pipes could be called “the lungs the building is breathing through” as they don’t pollute, they purify air. And after the analysis of the city’s color landscape this particular color was chosen as the most appropriate.



    The architects were very considerate about keeping the original appearance of GES-2. They tried not to replace the old elements where possible. For example, the original Shukhov’s farms were fixed. At the same time reproducing the old farms was not the goal. On the opposite, architects and engineers added new elements – subtended angles, bracing, – to strengthen the structure.



    The building contains a library, a bookstore, a cafeteria and an auditorium with 350 seats. In front of the main entrance to the art center, a small square is located, from which visitors enter the inner “street” surrounded by exhibitions, to the west of the building of the art center a birch grove of 600 trees is planted and objects of public art are located, from the side of the Moscow river there should be located walking canopy. The area of the art center together with the underground parking is 30.7 thousand square meters. Planned attendance - 750 thousand people a year.


    «Metropolis» team participated in the project and developed concept, project documentation and detail design for structural and internal engineering solutions.




    Figures and facts
    • Year 2021
    • Location Moscow, Bolotnaya embankment, 15
    • Area 40 000 m2
    • Number of storeys 4 levels
    • Number of underground storeys 2
    • Status Built
    • Architecture Renzo Piano Building Workshop, APEX
    Scope of work
    • Design stages Concept

      Project documentation

      Detail design
    • Architectural and structural design Structural solutions
    • Design of internal engineering systems Heating, ventilation and air conditioning systems

      Water supply and sewerage systems

      Power supply systems

      Low-current system

      Automation and dispatching systems
    • Special sections Energy efficiency

Сбросить
Рекомендации поиска

    ГЭС-2 — выведенная из эксплуатации электростанция в Москве. Электростанция занимала комплекс зданий по адресу Болотная набережная, 15 в районе Якиманка и работала в 1907—2015 годах. После закрытия постройки были переданы фонду современного искусства V-A-C, который начал реконструкцию здания под арт-центр. Открытие состоялось 4 декабря 2021 года.


    В 2009 году здание ГЭС-2 получило статус объекта культурного наследия регионального значения.


    Проект реконструкции включает восстановление первоначального исторического облика электростанции и переосмысление его внутреннего пространства. Он предполагает обращение к принципам энергоэффективной и устойчивой архитектуры — использование солнечных батарей, забор чистого воздуха через надстроенные до 70 метров трубы и сбор дождевой воды, а крышу машинного зала планируется сделать стеклянной, чтобы обеспечить естественное освещение в светлое время суток. Неф основного здания архитекторы планируют использовать как большое выставочное пространство площадью 1300 м², помещения поменьше — как отдельные выставочные залы.


    Синие трубы являются одной из главных визуальных акцентов здания, и этот цвет выбран не случайно. Архитекторы Renzo Piano Building Workshop хотели, чтобы они отличались от обычных труб, ассоциирующихся с дымом и загрязнением. Эти трубы, которые правильней было бы назвать «легкими, через которые дышит здание», очищают воздух, а не загрязняют его. И после анализа цветовой палитры района данный цвет был выбран как наиболее подходящий.



    Архитекторы подошли максимально бережно к вопросу сохранения оригинального облика ГЭС-2. При возможности старые элементы старались не заменять. Например, чинили оригинальные шуховские фермы. При этом не было задачи заново воспроизводить старые фермы. Наоборот, архитекторы и инженеры добавляли новые элементы — затягивающие углы, распорки, — чтобы усилить конструкцию.



    В здании разместились библиотека и книжный магазин, кафетерий и аудитория на 350 мест. Перед основным входом в арт-центр находится небольшая площадь, с которой посетители попадают на внутреннюю «улицу», окружённую выставками, к западу от здания арт-центра высажена берёзовая роща из 600 деревьев и расположились объекты паблик-арта, со стороны Москвы реки разместился прогулочный навес. Площадь арт-центра вместе с подземной парковкой составила 30,7 тысяч м². Планируемая посещаемость — 750 тысяч человек в год.


    Команда «Метрополис» участвовала в проекте и работала над конструктивными решениями и внутренними инженерными системами на стадиях концепции, проектной и рабочей документации.




    цифры и факты
    • Год 2021
    • Локация Москва, Болотная набережная, 15
    • Площадь 40 000 м2
    • Этажность 4 уровня
    • Количество подземных этажей 2
    • Статус построен
    • Архитектура Renzo Piano Building Workshop, APEX
    Объем выполненных работ
    • Стадии проектирования Концепция

      Проектная документация

      Тендерная документация

      Рабочая документация
    • Архитектурно-строительное проектирование Конструктивные решения
    • Проектирование внутренних инженерных систем Системы отопления, вентиляции и кондиционирования воздуха

      Системы водоснабжения и водоотведения

      Системы электроснабжения

      Системы связи и сигнализации

      Системы автоматизации и диспетчеризации
    • Спецразделы Энергоэффективность